Governor Godwin Obaseki, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, is the winner of Saturday’s Edo State governorship election, the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has said.

Obaseki secured 307,955 votes defeating his main rival Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who had 223,619 votes, INEC's returning officer revealed on Sunday in Benin at the final collation centre.

Obaseki's reelection has secured him another 4 years.

14 political candidates contested for the governorship position in the state.

Political observers say the election was fairly peaceful, although Covid-19 protocols were mostly ignored.

The election was also marred by accusations of vote buying and pockets of violence that were quickly nipped in the bud by security operatives.

Obaseki would spend his second term as governor of Edo as a PDP card carrying member following internal disagreements and controversies that got him disqualified during the APC primaries elections.

The incident fuelled by disagreements with Adams Oshiomhole, led Obaseki to jump ship and crossover to the PDP. The political intrigues saw Ize-Iyamu also switch from PDP to APC.

Hence Obaseki has defeated Ize-Iyamu twice. Once as an APC card carrying member and again as a member of the PDP.

In a vote of thanks to the Edo people, Governor Obaseki appreciated the People who decided to take a stand and vote for him again:

"Words fail me in saluting our teeming supporters who displayed immense courage in the face of threats, intimidation and brutalization. The collective will of Edo people made it possible for us to triumph over godfatherism. Congratulations to all Edo people. This is our victory!"


Join WhatApp Group